Investor Relations

Board of directors

There are five non-executive directors on the Trade Me board: an independent chairman, and four other directors, all of whom are independent.

David Kirk

Independent, non-executive chairman

David is the co-founder and managing partner of Bailador Investment Management, chairman of Kathmandu and a director of Forsyth Barr Limited, Bailador investee companies SMI Limited, Online Ventures Pty Ltd (trading as SiteMinder), Viocorp Pty Limited, Rezdy Pty Limited and DocsCorp Pty LIminted. He is also chairman of Trustees of Sydney Grammar School and chairman of Sydney Festival Limited.

David was the CEO of Fairfax Media from 2005 to 2008. He was also the chief executive officer and managing director of PMP Limited from 2003 to 2005 and the regional president (Australasia) for Norske Skog from 2000 to 2003. David worked for Fletcher Challenge Paper and Fletcher Challenge Energy in senior executive roles in New Zealand and Australia from 1995 to 1999. He was chief policy advisor to the Prime Minister of New Zealand from 1992 to 1994 and was a management consultant with McKinsey & Company in London from 1989 to 1991.

David holds a Medical Doctorate from the University of Otago and a Master of Arts (Philosophy, Politics and Economics) from Oxford University. He is also a Rhodes Scholar.

He lives in Sydney, Australia.

Katrina Johnson

Independent, non-executive director

Katrina has extensive experience in technology businesses, particularly in legal and regulatory matters for online marketplaces. She worked for 12 years in the United States and Australia for eBay and its subsidiaries, including three years as director of legal affairs and on the board of Australia. Prior to working at eBay, Katrina was a lawyer in private practice, advising start-ups as well as large technology and media businesses.

Katrina was appointed the legal director of Uber (Australia and New Zealand) in 2015.

Katrina has a BA, LLB (Hons) from Macquarie University and a graduate diploma in Legal Practice from the College of Law, New South Wales.

She lives in Sydney, Australia.

Paul McCarney

Independent, non-executive director

Paul is a technology entrepreneur, investor and consultant.

He has many years’ experience in technology and digital marketing including co-founding search marketing agency Decide Interactive (acquired by NASDAQ-listed 24/7 Real Media in 2004), and founding digital marketing company Life Event Media (acquired by directory business Sensis in 2011). He is a co-founder and the CEO of Data Republic in Australia. Paul is also a director of BTBI TCo, which owns and operates B2B publisher Cirrus Media.

He lives in Sydney, Australia.

Joanna Perry

Independent, non-executive director

Joanna has extensive governance experience. Her independent directorships include Genesis Energy Limited, Kiwi Property Group, Sport New Zealand, Partners Life and Rowing New Zealand.

She is chair of the IFRS Advisory Council and deputy chair of Regional Facilities Auckland from 1 November 2016.

Prior to focusing on her directorships, Joanna was a senior partner in the global audit, tax and advisory firm KPMG. She was a member of the Securities Commission, chaired the Financial Reporting Standards board and was a member of the Australian Accounting Standards board.

Joanna has a Master of Arts in Economics from Cambridge University and is a Fellow of the New Zealand Institute of Chartered Accountants.

She is a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to accounting.

Joanna lives in Auckland, New Zealand.

Simon West

Independent, non-executive director (appointed 15 December 2016)

Simon has extensive experience in retail and technology businesses, and is currently the executive director of Max Fashions.

Simon has previously held CEO roles at clothing retailer EziBuy and the Australian ecommerce website, and is a director of Onceit, a fashion flash sale site.

He holds a Bachelor of Management Studies, majoring in strategic management, from the University of Waikato.

Simon lives in Auckland, New Zealand.